"We must not forget those who have contributed to the (Indonesian) jazz world." According to the founder of PT Java Festival Production, Peter F. Gontha, that is one of the main reasons Jakarta International Java Jazz Festival annually awards a number of musicians who have contributed to the development of jazz music, especially jazz music in Indonesia. Those responsible in selecting the awardees are assembled in a team comprising of jazz critics and observers from various media.

The winners of the Jakarta International Java Jazz Awards, over the years, are:

  • Jack Lesmana
  • Embong Rahardjo
  • Bubi Chen
  • Bill Saragih (The Jack Lesmana Award)
  • Blue Johnson (The Most Supportive Person)
  • Jeff Lorber (The Most Supportive Artist)
  • Maryono (Jazz Pioneer)
  • Ireng Maulana (Most Dedicated Person in Indonesian Jazz Scene)
  • Perry Pattiselanno (Most Remembered Artist)
  • Geliga (Most Innovative Jazz Musician)
  • Rafi (Most Upcoming Talent for 2006)
  • Loddy Item
  • Eddy Karamoy
  • Didi Tjia
  • Oele Pattiselanno (The Indonesian Jazz Legend)
  • Idang Rasjidi (The Indonesian Jazz Talent Award)
  • Jazz Goes to Campus (JGTC) (The Indonesian Jazz Appreciation Award)
  • Renee Olstead (The International Jazz Talent Award)
  • The Manhattan Transfer (The International Jazz Legend Award)
  • Dira J. Sugandi (Indonesian Young Talent)
  • Dwiki Dharmawan (Indonesian Jazz Ambassador)
  • Firman L. Soebardjo, (Most Dedicated Person in Indonesian Jazz)
  • Roy Ayers (International Jazz Icon)
  • Everette Harp (Most Supportive Artist)
  • Benny Likumahuwa (Most Dedicated Indonesian Artist)
  • Most Dedicated Indonesian Artist:
    Margie Segers
  • Indonesian Young Talent:
    Demas Narawangsa
  • Most Dedicated Person to Jazz in Indonesia:
    Indra Malaon
  • The International Jazz Icon:
    George Duke
  • Jazz Icon on Rise:
    Roy Hargrove
  • The Most Supportive Person:
    Brian Simpson
  • Jazz Icon on The Rise:
    Maurice Brown
  • Java Jazz Hall Of Fame:
    Brian Simpson
  • The International Jazz Icon:
    Bob James
  • Java Jazz Hall Of Fame:
    Ron King
  • Most Dedicated Indonesian Artist/Group:
    Riza Arsyad
  • Java Jazz Hall Of Fame:
    Michael Paulo
  • Most Dedicated Person/Institution to Jazz in Indonesia:
  • Java Jazz Hall Of Fame:
    Jeff Lorber
  • Indonesian Young Talent:
    Sri Hanuraga
  • Most Supportive Person/Institution:
    New Zealand Embassy